Kuasa govt-friendly but we’re not linked to PM, says Kamarazaman

KUALA LUMPUR: Parti Kuasa Rakyat (Kuasa) has no links to Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob but it will be government-friendly, says the party’s pro-tem president.

He said they will push for free education, housing and health as well as jobs for the bottom 40 (B40) and middle 40 (M40) groups.

Speaking at the party’s launch today, Kamarazaman Yaakob, who is Ismail’s older brother, said if Kuasa was not government-friendly, it would make their struggle for the bottom-40 (B40), middle-40 (M40), the environment, social justice and human rights more difficult.

Kuasa is also seeking to abolish the National Higher Education Fund Corporation (PTPTN) and replace it with scholarships for the B40 and M40.

“What we are fighting for, the government can implement if we are government-friendly.

“We might not be able to get free houses or education for the poor if we are not friendly with the government of the day.”

Kamarazaman reiterated that his party had no links to Ismail, saying he had not even discussed the setting up of Kuasa with his brother.

“This has been my struggle since my university days. My decisions and actions have never followed that of the prime minister.”

Kamarazaman Yaakob said Kuasa needed to be friendly with the government to get free houses or education for the poor.

He said the party has not yet decided on the number of seats it will contest in GE15. This, he said, would depend on the support and acceptance of the people.

However, he did not rule out accepting elected representatives who were looking for a new party, so long as they subscribed to Kuasa’s ideals.

Kamarazaman also said his party had no ties to Bersatu leaders Azmin Ali or Zuraida Kamaruddin.

Kamarazaman added Kuasa would give autonomy to its Sabah and Sarawak members.

“They will not only be given the freedom to decide on their leadership at the state level but also their representatives at the central level to fill quotas, which include the deputy and vice-president posts,” he said in his speech.

Other pro-tem committee members of the party include former Padang Serai MP N Gobalakrishnan, G25 member Nik Abud Aziz Nik Hassan, Gabriel Walter, Mohamad Nasir Saludin, Hamzah Jaaffar, Anas Yusof Sulaiman, Sahandri Gani Hamzah, Helmi Ibrahim, Razali Abd Razak, Suharmili Rosle and Ching Eu Boon.

By : Faiz Zainudin – FMT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s