Dewan Rakyat passes 12th Malaysia Plan by voice vote

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 7): The Dewan Rakyat passed the 12th Malaysia Plan 2021-2025 without amendment on Thursday, after four days of debate and a winding-up session that spanned three days by the ministries.

The motion, which was tabled by prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaacob on Sept 27, was passed via a voice vote.

A total of 106 members of Parliament from both the government and the opposition took part in the debate.

Some 30 ministers and deputy ministers took part in the winding-up session, with final remarks by Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy), Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

The 12th Malaysia Plan was initially planned for tabling in the Parliament in August 2020, but was delayed twice to January 2021 and then to September 2021.

The five-year plan for Malaysia’s development and way forward is split into two rolling plans, and the first one was already approved by the Economic Planning Unit.

Among key highlights in the 12MP was a big boost to the infrastructure development at over RM250 billion, partly to revive the economy with greater focus on six underdeveloped states, as well as a dedicated chapter on Sabah and Sarawak.

At the unveiling of the 12MP, Prime Minister Ismail Sabri highlighted nine areas of focus, including boosting economic growth, strengthening growth catalysts and improving development in less developed states under the theme “fair, inclusive, equitable”.

The Dewan Rakyat session resumes on Monday (Oct 11) and will continue until Oct 12.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s