PH and Ismail’s govt to sign reform pact

PETALING JAYA: Political leaders of Ismail Sabri Yaakob’s government and representatives of Pakatan Harapan have reached agreement on political cooperation between the two blocs and a memorandum of understanding will be signed at Parliament House today (Sept 13).

Details of their agreement are to be revealed after the signing.

“Focus and priority will be given by both parties to a new political landscape through initiatives to transform and renew the government’s administration, particularly to strengthen the function of Parliament,” the two sides said.

The agreement is expected to form the basis of a confidence and supply arrangement in the Dewan Rakyat in which the opposition will support the government in crucial votes such as the federal budget. Failure to pass the budget will result in the automatic collapse of the government.

The political leaders who met today (from left) – Tengku Zafrul Aziz, Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, Hamzah Zainudin, Annuar Musa from the government side; Saifuddin Nasution Ismail,  Loke Siew Fook, Salahuddin Ayub, Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin and Fahmi Fadzil from Pakatan Harapan.

In a joint statement last night, representatives of both sides said they had agreed to work together in a bipartisan spirit to restore political stability while the government manages the Covid-19 pandemic and to help bolster economic recovery.

The statement came after they held a meeting in Kuala Lumpur.

Representing the government at the meeting were home minister Hamzah Zainudin, law minister Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, finance minister Tengku Zafrul Aziz, communications and multimedia minister Annuar Musa and energy and natural resources minister Takiyuddin Hassan.

Pakatan Harapan was represented by PKR secretary-general Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, Amanah deputy president Salahuddin Ayub, DAP organising secretary Loke Siew Fook, DAP deputy chairman Gobind Singh Deo, PKR information chief Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin and PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil.

They said the memorandum was finalised after several rounds of negotiations.

The memorandum will be signed at 5pm today (Sept 13) by Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob, opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng, Amanah president Mohamad Sabu and Upko president Wildred Madius Tangau.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s