Umno reveals letters by MPs who no longer back Muhyiddin

The 13 letters were posted on Umno’s website.

Thirteen letters by Umno MPs addressed to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong stating their decision to withdraw support for Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin were publicly revealed today (Aug 9).

The letters, affirmed by lawyer Santhra Segaran, were dated between July 29 and Aug 3. The letters were posted on Umno’s official website.

The signatories are:

  • Najib Abdul Razak (Pekan)
  • Azalina Othman Said (Pengerang)
  • Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (Bagan Datuk)
  • Ahmad Nazlan Idris (Jerantut)
  • Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub (Machang)
  • Ramli Mohd Nor (Cameron Highlands)
  • Ahmad Maslan (Pontian)
  • Mohd Nizar Zakaria (Parit)
  • Noh Omar (Tanjung Karang)
  • Azeez Abdul Rahim (Baling)
  • Shamsul Anuar Nasarah (Lenggong)
  • Bung Moktar Radin (Kinabatangan)
  • Mohamad Alamin (Kimanis)

In addition to Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah (Gua Musang), who sits on the independent bench, there are currently 14 Umno MPs who do not support Muhyiddin.

Bung Moktar and Mohamad are the latest to join the list of Umno MPs who withdrew their support.

Bung Moktar was the earliest to sign the letter – July 29.

Umno’s official website also shared two letters signed by Umno president Zahid.

The first, dated July 30, saw Zahid seeking an audience with the Agong to present the first batch of letters signed by the Umno MPs.

Zahid said the positions taken by the Umno MPs were in accordance with the party leadership’s decision on July 7.

The second letter, dated Aug 4, saw Zahid providing a full list of the 14 MPs and his assurance to the Agong that none of the MPs who signed the first batch of letters had second thoughts.

The revealing of these letters has cast further doubt on Muhyiddin’s claim that he still commanded the majority support of MPs.

Muhyiddin dismissed suggestions that he should step down and promised to test his majority when Parliament reconvenes in September.

Two Umno MPs – Shamsul Anuar and Noraini Ahmad – have resigned from Muhyiddin’s cabinet. Noraini said did so because she had to uphold the party leadership’s decision but has not explicitly stated that she doesn’t support Muhyiddin.

At the time of writing, Muhyiddin has the support of 23 Umno MPs at most, excluding Noraini.

This would mean that Muhyiddin only has support from 100 MPs – 11 shy of a simple majority.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s